School of nursing

YSN will move to West Campus

YSN will move next year from New Haven to the university’s West Campus in Orange and West Haven. The relocation of the school and its 450 students, staff, and faculty is expected to begin in the summer of 2013 and be completed in time for the school’s 90th anniversary in the fall. “The ways we educate students have changed, and we need space that is flexible and equipped for tomorrow’s students,” said Dean Margaret Grey. “We are developing plans for customized spaces suited to modern teaching, simulation, research, and lab needs.” More information and photos at (For aYale Alumni Magazine report on the move, see page 16.)

YSN professor gets honorary degree

Dr. Donna Diers ’64MSN, the Annie W. Goodrich Professor Emerita and lecturer at YSN, received the University of Wyoming’s honorary doctor of science degree during the UW commencement ceremonies on May 5. Diers is a Wyoming native who received her undergraduate degree from the University of Denver before coming to YSN as a master’s student. She joined the faculty as an instructor in 1964 and served as dean for 13 years.

Professor to lead national organization

Dr. Mikki Meadows-Oliver, assistant professor of nursing, is the newly elected president-elect of the National Association of Pediatric Nurse Practitioners (NAPNAP). Her main objectives as president include promoting NAPNAP as the leading organization for PNPs and other advanced practice nurses who care for children; advocating to advance the PNP role; striving to improve health care for infants, children, and adolescents; and encouraging partnerships with other organizations that promote child health.

Visiting Nurses honor YSN faculty

Professors Angela Crowley and Patricia Jackson Allen were recognized this spring with the Nightingale Award for Excellence in Nursing, an honor created by the Visiting Nurse Association of South Central Connecticut to celebrate outstanding nurses and elevate the nursing profession. YSN professor Donna Diers was the keynote speaker at the event.

The comment period has expired.