School of art

School Notes: School of Art
November/December 2007

Marta Kuzma |

Smithsonian honors Yale sculpture professor

The Smithsonian American Art Museum has named Jessica Stockholder ’85MFA, director of graduate studies in sculpture, the winner of its Lucelia Artist Award. The award, established in 2001, "annually recognizes an American artist under the age of 50 who demonstrates exceptional creativity and has produced a significant body of artwork that is considered emblematic of this period in contemporary art." The honor is accompanied by a $25,000 award that "is intended to encourage the artist's future development and experimentation." Stockholder was appointed to the Yale faculty in 1999.

Undergraduates at the School of Art

The School of Art offers a major in art for Yale College undergraduates, providing 36 courses each semester in addition to museum study trips, independent study, lectures, and critiques specific to the undergraduate curriculum. This academic year, there are 40 undergraduate students majoring in art. From December 3 through mid-January, these undergraduate art students will display their work -- ranging from color photography to large sculpture installations, video, painting, and graphic design -- in the Undergraduate Comprehensive Show in Green Hall, the School of Art headquarters.

"Making Do 2"

For the second year in a row, the School of Art has invited artists to the Green Hall gallery to produce their works with the materials at hand, to "make do" with what they have and respond imaginatively to the relative quantity or scarcity of it. As Dean Robert Storr explains, "It can be an art of 'muchness' or an 'ultra-povera' art of extreme spareness; it can be lasting or totally ephemeral. In essence, it consists of anything the artist chooses to do while making do with a given material of their choice." The five artists who have accepted this challenge are Matt Johnson, Traci Tullius, Kate Costello, Demetrius Oliver, and Jurg Lehni. An exhibition of their created works opened October 24 and is on view through November 11.



The comment period has expired.