Yale college

School Notes: Yale College
November/December 2016

Five alumni awarded the Yale Medal

Five individuals will receive the Yale Medal during the AYA Assembly in November: Roland W. Betts ’68, Thomas B. Ketchum ’72, Susan E. Lennon ’85MPPM, James C. Lu ’77, and Indra K. Nooyi ’80MPPM. The Yale Medal is the highest award presented by the AYA and is conferred solely to recognize and honor outstanding individual service to the university. Since its inception, the Yale Medal has been presented to 308 individuals, all of whom showed deep devotion to the ideals of the university, and were conspicuous in demonstrating their support of Yale through extensive, exemplary service.

Committee on renaming buildings

As part of Yale’s efforts to promote greater inclusion and diversity on campus, President Peter Salovey has appointed a Committee to Establish Principles on Renaming, which will articulate a set of principles that can guide Yale in decisions about whether to remove a historical name from a building or other prominent structure or space on campus. The committee will consult with experts, communicate and coordinate with other universities that are addressing similar issues, and collaborate with other groups at Yale that have been charged with related work, such as the Committee on Art in Public Spaces. The committee will collect input from the Yale community and review input already received on this topic during the conversations of the past year.

Eight alumni in 2016 Olympics

Yale was well represented at the 2016 Olympics in Brazil, with eight Bulldogs selected for competition: Ashley Brzozowicz ’04, women’s crew, alternate for Canada; Charlie Cole ’07, heavyweight crew, men’s four for USA; Tom Dethlefs ’12, heavyweight crew, alternate for USA; Katherine Miller ’17, women’s fencing, team epee for Brazil; Thomas Barrows ’10, coed sailing, 49er for USA; Joe Morris ’12, coed sailing, 49er for USA; Stu McNay ’05, coed sailing, 470 for USA; Kate Grace ’11, women’s cross country and track and field, 800m for USA.

The comment period has expired.