Yale college

School Notes: Yale College
January/February 2011

University ranked second in number of Fulbright Scholars

In October, the Chronicle of Higher Education announced that Yale ranked second in the nation in the publication’s rankings of top producers of U.S. Fulbright Scholars for 2010–2011. A total of 31 Yalies received awards, placing Yale behind only the University of Michigan, with 44 Fulbright winners. (The two institutions were equal in percentages, with just over one-quarter of each university’s total applicant pool receiving grants.)

Undergraduate Fulbright winners this year (16 students, or just over half of the university’s recipients) were announced by the Institute of International Education in July. They are: Presca Eun Jee Ahn, Branford College ’10 (journalism, United Kingdom); Elias Bildner, Davenport College ’10 (economic development, China); Kathleen Borschow, Branford College ’10 (English teaching assistantship, Spain); Gabriel Boorstyn Friedman, Saybrook College ’10 (English teaching assistantship, Brazil); Danielle Kehl, Timothy Dwight College ’10 (English teaching assistantship, Rwanda); Amy Larsen, Calhoun College ’10 (English teaching assistantship, Korea); Adrian Latortue, Silliman College ’10 (urban planning, Vietnam); Michael Leibenluft, Davenport College ’10 (theater studies, China); Zachary Marks, Saybrook College ’10 (English teaching assistantship, India); Jakara Mato, Branford College ’10 (education, Italy); Olga L. Pagan, Morse College ’10 (English teaching assistantship, Venezuela); Molly V. Perkins, Silliman College ’10 (English teaching assistantship, Russia); Harold Wesley Phillips, Timothy Dwight College ’10 (biology, Argentina); Sonia Singhal, Morse College ’10 (biology, France); Daniel Townsend, Calhoun College ’10 (political science, China); and Michael Vishnevetsky, Branford College ’10 (biology, Malaysia).

Junior faculty receive prizes

In October, the Yale College dean’s office announced this year’s recipients of its annual fall prizes for junior faculty members’ research, teaching, and writing. The six professors honored for 2010–2011 are:

Hong Tang (electrical engineering), for his work in spintronics, nanoelectromechanical systems, and nano-optomechanics; and Chinedum Osuji (chemical engineering), for his research on the structure and dynamics of soft materials: the Arthur Greer Memorial Prize, which recognizes outstanding research in the natural or social sciences.

Gundula Kreuzer (music), for her article, “‘Oper im Kirchengewande?’ Verdi’s Requiem and the Anxieties of the Young German Empire,” and her book expanding on its themes, Verdi and the Germans: From Unification to the Third Reich; and Brian Walsh (English), for his work, Shakespeare, the Queen’s Men, and the Elizabethan Performance of History:the Samuel and Ronnie Heyman Prize for Outstanding Scholarly Publication.

Jonathan Gilmore (philosophy), for his teaching in Directed Studies, the Shulman Seminar, and the program in Ethics, Politics, and Economics, and his courses including Biology, Evolution, & Culture and Freedom of Expression; and Kathryn Lofton (religious studies), for her popular, engaging, and intensive classes, her dynamic approach to pedagogy, and the deep interdisciplinary resources she utilizes in her teaching and scholarship: the Poorvu Family Award for Interdisciplinary Teaching.

To read more of the latest news from Yale College, with updated information online weekly, visit http://yalecollege.yale.edu.

The comment period has expired.