Faculty of arts and sciences

A prize-winning year for FAS faculty

FAS faculty had a particularly decorated year, including William Nordhaus ’63, ’72MA (economics), who won the Nobel Prize in Economic Sciences; David Blight (history), who won the Pulitzer Prize for his book Frederick Douglass: Prophet of Freedom; and Marcia Johnson (psychology), who won the Benjamin Franklin Medal in Computer and Cognitive Science. Paul Turner (ecology and evolutionary biology) and Pinelopi K. Goldberg (economics) were elected to the National Academy of Sciences, and seven FAS faculty were elected to the American Academy of Arts and Sciences. 

Jack Harris (physics) was granted the Vannevar Bush Faculty Fellowship, the Department of Defense’s most prestigious single-investigator award; Yifeng Liu (mathematics) won the SASTRA Ramanujan Prize for his contributions to the field of mathematics; and Marvin Chun (psychology) was awarded the Ho-Am Prize for Science for a leading scientist of Korean descent. Five FAS faculty received Sloan Fellowships,  two received Guggenheim Fellowships, four were elected to the American Academy for the Advancement of Science, and one was elected to the National Academy of Inventors, among countless other important honors for FAS faculty.

Retiring faculty honored

In May Tamar Gendler, dean of the Faculty of Arts and Sciences, joined by Marvin Chun, dean of Yale College, honored the 12 retiring FAS faculty members for their longtime service to the university. Faculty retirement tributes (found in full at fas.yale.edu) showcase retiring faculty members’ lives, careers, and their impact. Honorees include faculty specializing in a broad range of fields, from East Asian languages and literature to psychology to statistics and data science. The FAS recognizes the newest emeritus faculty with gratitude for their service and contributions to Yale. Three of the retiring faculty received the additional honor of serving as marshals at the university commencement ceremonies, bearing maces and leading the procession. This year, the senior marshal was Hazel Carby (African American studies); the chief marshal was Grigory Margulis (mathematics); and the FAS faculty marshal was Mary Miller (history of art and former dean of Yale College).

The comment period has expired.