School of drama

School Notes: David Geffen School of Drama
November/December 2021

James Bundy ’95MFA |

Broadway honors for Yale affiliates

The 74th annual Tony Awards, which honored productions that opened on Broadway in the pandemic-shortened 2019–20 season, were presented at a televised and livestreamed ceremony in September. Among those honored with awards were Andrew Burnap ’16MFA, Best Actor in Leading Role in a Play, for The Inheritance; David Alan Grier ’81MFA, Best Featured Actor in a Play, A Soldier’s Play; Derek McLane ’84MFA, Best Scenic Design of a Musical, Moulin Rouge; Alex Timbers ’01, Best Director of a Musical, Moulin Rouge; and Catherine Zuber ’84CDR, Best Costume Design of a Musical, Moulin Rouge.

Other nominees for Tony Awards from the Yale community included Dede M. Ayite ’11MFA, Best Scenic Design of a Play, Slave Play and A Soldier’s PlayAto Blankson-Wood ’15MFA, Best Featured Actor in a Play, Slave Play; Ji-youn Chang ’08MFA, Best Lighting Design of a Play, Slave Play; Jeremy O. Harris ’19CDR, Best Play, Slave Play; Riccardo Hernández ’92MFA, head of the set design concentration and cochair of design effective January 1, Best Scenic Design for a Musical, Jagged Little Pill; lecturer Daniel Kluger ’08, Best Original Score, The Sound Inside, and Best Sound Design for a Play, The Sound Inside and Seawall/A LifeChalia La Tour ’16MFA, Best Featured Actress in a Play, Slave Play; Derek McLane ’84MFA, Best Scenic Design of a Play, A Soldier’s Play; lecturer Robert O’Hara, Best Director, Slave Play; Fitz Patton ’01MFA, Best Original Score, The Rose Tattoo; Emily Rebholz ’06MFA, Best Costume Design of a Musical, Jagged Little Pill; and Bess Wohl ’98ArtP, ’02MFA, Best Play for Grand Horizons.

Post a comment