School of medicine

School Notes: School of Medicine
January/February 2020

Nancy J. Brown |

Yale scientists win NIH awards

Valentina Greco and Marina Picciotto are among the 11 recipients of the National Institutes of Health’s (NIH) Pioneer Award, which recognizes scientists who have a history of creative research and who show promise in originating “pioneering approaches to major challenges.” Greco and Picciotto will each receive $3.5 million of funding over the course of five years. Greco, Carolyn Walch Slayman Professor of Genetics and professor of cell biology and dermatology, has produced data suggesting that the regeneration of hair follicles serves as a protective factor against tumor growth. Picciotto, Charles B. G. Murphy Professor of Psychiatry and professor in the Yale Child Study Center and the departments of neuroscience and pharmacology, has researched the effects of nicotine on genetics and its link to behavioral changes such as hyperactivity disorder, addiction, and conduct disorder.

Faculty named to National Academy

Six distinguished faculty from the medical school have been elected to the National Academy of Medicine. The honor, given to 100 new members this year, recognizes individuals who have demonstrated outstanding professional achievement and commitment to service in the fields of health and medicine. The medical school honorees are Nita Ahuja, chair and William H. Carmalt Professor of Surgery; Jorge E. Galán, chair and Lucille B. Markey Professor of Microbial Pathogenesis; Akiko Iwasaki, Waldemar Von Zedtwitz Professor of Immunobiology and professor of molecular, cellular, and developmental biology and of dermatology; Rafael Pérez-Escamilla, professor of epidemiology and public health; David G. Schatz ’80, ’80MS, chair and Waldemar Von Zedtwitz Professor of Immunobiology; and Nenad Sestan ’99PhD, Harvey and Kate Cushing Professor of Neuroscience.

The comment period has expired.