School of medicine

School Notes: School of Medicine
July/August 2021

Nancy J. Brown |

New chair of anesthesiology named

Lisa R. Leffert has been appointed chair of the Department of Anesthesiology at Yale School of Medicine and chief of anesthesiology at Yale New Haven Hospital and Bridgeport Hospital, effective August 16, 2021. She succeeds Roberta L. Hines, Nicholas M. Greene Professor of Anesthesiology, the department’s chair since 1994. Leffert comes from Harvard Medical School, where she has been associate professor of anesthesia as well as chief of the Division of Obstetric Anesthesia at Massachusetts General Hospital. 

Faculty members elected to academic societies

Lieping Chen, United Technologies Corporation Professor in Cancer Research and professor of immunobiology, of dermatology, and of medicine (medical oncology), has been elected to the National Academy of Sciences, which is charged with providing independent, objective advice to the nation on matters related to science and technology. 

The American Society for Clinical Investigation (ASCI) has elected Joseph N. Contessa, professor of therapeutic radiology and of pharmacology; Peggy Myung, assistant professor of dermatology and of pathology; and Christopher Pittenger ’94, ’94MS, professor of psychiatry. Members of the ASCI are elected based on their outstanding scholarly achievement and are committed to mentoring future generations of physician-scientists from diverse backgrounds and biomedical disciplines. 

The Association of American Physicians (AAP) has elected Gary V. Desir ’80MD, chair of internal medicine, Paul B. Beeson Professor of Medicine, and vice provost for faculty development and diversity; Albert Ko, chair of epidemiology of microbial diseases and professor of epidemiology and of medicine; and David A. Hafler, chair and William S. and Lois Stiles Edgerly Professor of Neurology and professor of immunobiology. AAP’s goals include the pursuit of medical knowledge and the advancement through experimentation and discovery of basic and clinical science and their application to clinical medicine. 

The comment period has expired.