School of nursing

School Notes: School of Nursing
September/October 2018

YSN distinguished alumnae/i awards

Dean Kurth hosted an awards dinner at the Yale Graduate Club in May honoring this year’s five recipients of the Distinguished Alumnae/i Awards. They are: Barbara Shaw ’88MSN; Rose Clarke Nanyonga ’15PhD; Barbara Wolfe ’87MSN; Carol Shieh ’98DNSc; and Beth Esstman ’00MSN. 

YSN faculty recognized

Gina Novick ’83MSN, ’09PhD, was inducted into the Fellowship of the American College of Nursing Midwives. Robin Whittemore received the Dorothy Sexton Mentorship Award. Alison Moriarty Daley ’94MSN was selected as one of the American Academy of Nursing’s 2018 class of Academy Fellows. And three Yale nurses were honored with a Nightingale Award for Excellence in Nursing: Monica Ordway ’97MSN, ’11PhD, Andrée de Lisser ’79MSN, and Jennifer Espinoza ’19MSN, who received the student scholarship award.

Honoring retirees

Ruth McCorkle, the Florence Schorske Wald Professor of Nursing and professor of epidemiology, retired on June 30 after a distinguished career. An inspiring symposium was held at YSN to honor her half-century of substantial contribution to oncology, palliative, chronic, and end-of-life research. Professor Marjorie (Marge) Funk, the Helen Porter Jayne and Martha Prosser Jayne Professor of Nursing, was celebrated at her retirement party in June, with many colleagues paying tribute to her 34 years at YSN and her contribution to research in the wise use of technology for critically ill patients.

New associate dean for advancement

Beth Zapatka has been appointed as Yale School of Nursing’s new associate dean for advancement, joining the senior administrative team.

Yale Day of Service

Over 100 alumnae/i, staff, and volunteers came together to take part in the Yale Day of Service in May, filling 375 bags with baby clothes, books, and diapers. These were then donated to St. Raphael’s Birth Center for the Newborns in Need program, for families served by the YSN midwifery faculty practice at the Vidone Birth Center.

The comment period has expired.