School of nursing

School Notes: School of Nursing
January/February 2019

Academy of Nursing lauds YSN faculty

Three faculty were honored in November with awards at the American Academy of Nursing’s (AAN) annual conference in Washington, DC. Dr. Ruth McCorkle received the academy’s highest honor of Living Legend, recognizing her extraordinary and sustained contributions to health care throughout her career. Dr. Canhua Xiao and Dr. Alison Moriarty Daley ’94MSN were inducted as AAN fellows for their significant influences on nursing and health care.

Alumna receives AYA Award

In November, Mary C. Geary ’74MSN was presented with the 2018 AYA Leadership Award for Volunteer Innovation and Service, in recognition of her passionate commitment to enhancing the student-alumni experience at YSN and for bringing exceptional leadership to her alumni board presidency (2016–2018).

Connecticut Nurses honor alumnae

Dr. Lois Sadler ’79MSN and Dr. Jessica Coviello ’82MSN were honored at the Connecticut Nurses’ Association Diamond Jubilee Awards in October. Dr. Sadler received the Virginia Henderson Award in recognition of her contributions to nursing research. Dr. Coviello was awarded the Florence Wald Award for her outstanding achievements in nursing practice. These prestigious awards, named after some of the most distinguished leaders in Connecticut nursing history, represent the highest honors the nursing profession can bestow in the state.

Doctoral students receive Jonas Scholarships

Doctoral students Dora Lendvai Wischik(PhD), Sarah DeSilvey(DNP), and Ty Perrier (DNP) are recipients of the distinguished 2018 Jonas scholarships, which aim to improve the quality of health care by investing in nursing scholars whose research and clinical foci specifically address the nation’s most urgent needs.

Yale New Haven Health names inaugural chief nursing executive

Yale New Haven Health has named Beth P. Beckman to serve as its inaugural chief nursing executive. Dr. Beckman will concurrently serve as the associate dean for partnerships at the Yale School of Nursing.

The comment period has expired.