School of nursing

School Notes: School of Nursing
January/February 2016

Incoming dean receives FNINR award

The Friends of the National Institute of Nursing Research (FNINR) presented the 2015 Ada Sue Hinshaw Award to YSN’s incoming dean Ann Kurth ’90MSN at the annual NightinGala event on October 14, 2015, in Washington, DC.

Considered the preeminent award given by the FNINR, the Hinshaw Award is named in honor of the first permanent director of the National Institute of Nursing Research, YSN alumna Ada Sue Hinshaw ’63MSN. Recipients have a substantive and sustained program of science that affords her/him recognition as a prominent senior scientist.

Professor presents at cancer conference

YSN assistant professor Marianne Davies ’87MSN, ’00PMC, presented at the 16th World Conference on Lung Cancer (WCLC) held recently in Denver. Davies discussed her review of immune-related adverse events (irAEs) associated with immune checkpoint inhibitors and other anticancer immune therapies. She has developed a standard algorithm to help guide members of the multidisciplinary team who care for cancer patients with assessment, monitoring, and management of irAEs with checkpoint inhibitors, in order to achieve early identification and treatment of irAEs and to minimize the risk for advanced toxicities and long-term complications.

AAP honors YSN professor

The American Academy of Pediatrics (AAP) Council on Early Childhood have selected YSN professor Angela Crowley as the recipient of the 2015 Dr. Susan S. Aronson Early Education and Child Care Advocacy Award. Established in 2004, the award recognizes a health professional who has made ongoing efforts to improve the health and safety of children in early education and childcare settings. It is awarded annually at the AAP national conference.

The comment period has expired.