Yale college

School Notes: Yale College
January/February 2009

Junior faculty members honored

Every year, the college dean's office honors outstanding junior faculty members with its academic awards. Each prize carries an award of funding to support further research. This year's recipients were honored at a dinner in New Haven in November.

The Arthur Greer Memorial Prize for Outstanding Scholarly Publication or Research was granted to Laurie Santos, Department of Psychology, for her pioneering research on primate cognition. Santos is widely recognized as an emerging leader in the field for her work exploring the evolution and origins of the human mind.

The Samuel and Ronnie Heyman Prize for Outstanding Scholarly Publication or Research was awarded to three faculty members in recognition of their recently published works: Christopher L. Hill, Department of East Asian Languages and Literatures, for National History and the World of Nations: Capital, State, and the Rhetoric of History in Japan, France, and the United States; Colleen Manassa, Department of Near Eastern Languages and Civilizations, for The Late Egyptian Underworld and The Great Karnak Inscription of Merneptah: Grand Strategy in the 13th Century BC; and Marci Shore, Department of History, for Caviar and Ashes: A Warsaw Generation's Life and Death in Marxism, 1918-1968.

The PoorvuFamily Award for Inter-disciplinary Teaching went to three faculty members whose teaching and research span the boundaries of traditional scholarly fields: Justin Fox, Department of Political Science, for his contributions to the ethics, politics, and economics (EP&E) program; Bryan Garsten, Department of Political Science, for his teaching in the history and politics division of the interdisciplinary Directed Studies program; and Alondra Nelson, who holds appointments in several departments, for such interdisciplinary courses as Genealogy and the Politics of Family; Health Social Movements; and Technology, Identity, and Culture.

Student-faculty connection inspires anonymous gift

An anonymous $1 million gift to Yale College has established a fund in honor of Sharon Oster, the Frederic D. Wolfe Professor of Management and dean of the Yale School of Management. Inspired by Professor Oster's longstanding commitment to working with undergraduates, the Sharon Oster Resource Fund for Undergraduate Teaching and Engagement will provide support to faculty members who have made exceptional efforts to engage undergraduates. The donor, who worked with Professor Oster as a student and research assistant while at Yale, made the gift to recognize Oster's "enormous contributions to generations of undergraduates."

Professor Oster has worked closely with Yale College students since she joined the faculty as assistant professor in the Department of Economics in 1974. She received her BA from Hofstra University and her PhD in economics from Harvard. In 1983, she joined the Yale School of Management as professor of economics and management.

The comment period has expired.